Supervising Dynamically

$350.00

Using ACT in BCBA Supervision
16 Learning CEs including 3 ethics and 3 supervision
This series with an assertion: You already know how to be a great supervisor and leader. Here’s the problem. Knowing doesn’t matter. Knowing doesn’t change that you’re a human being and your performance is subject to all the laws and principles you’re expected to apply to others. What you “ought to do” isn’t always the easy thing to do, and human beings, through millions of years of evolution, are designed to do the easy thing.
Dates and times of open courses:
October 2022 Series
Wednesdays 8pm EST / 7pm CST / 6pm MST / 5pm PST

October 12 & 19
November 2, 9, 14 & 30
December 7 & 14
November 2022 Series
Mondays 12pm EST / 11am CST / 10am MST / 9am PST

November 21 & 28
December 5, 12 & 19
January 9, 16 & 25
NOTE – Within seven days of registration, you will receive an email with login information for our learning platform and further instructions on participation.
SKU: N/A Category:
Using ACT in BCBA Supervision
16 Learning CEs including 3 ethics and 3 supervision
This series with an assertion: You already know how to be a great supervisor and leader. Here’s the problem. Knowing doesn’t matter. Knowing doesn’t change that you’re a human being and your performance is subject to all the laws and principles you’re expected to apply to others. What you “ought to do” isn’t always the easy thing to do, and human beings, through millions of years of evolution, are designed to do the easy thing.
This makes it hard to:
  • Have difficult conversations that make a difference,
  • Deal effectively with uncooperative and upset supervisees,
  • Implement the practices that reduce burnout and resignation while promoting passionate engagement in one’s work.

This course is less about “what to do” and more about identifying personal barriers to using what you already know through Acceptance and Commitment Training, a powerful set of practices for developing yourself as such a supervisor.In this eight-session course, you will explore yourself as a supervisor and develop your supervision practices from within an ACT framework. Applying core ACT processes such as mindful awareness, defusion, acceptance, and values, you’ll identify situations where you get thwarted in what you “know to do,” and learn to deal powerfully with challenging situations.

Even parts educational and experiential, you’ll learn the basic processes of ACT and then apply this coaching and training in to your supervision. The results are an expanded capacity for training and developing your supervisees in a way that experientially connects them to the difference they make and fosters their continued growth and development as behavioral practitioners.

In this course, you will deal with your own humanity, what thwarts you in your commitments, and develop practices for reframing situations you find challenging so that you can:

  • Use performance management conversations as opportunities for growth – both for you and the people you supervise.
  • Communicate in ways that inspires your supervisees, emphasizing the positive reinforcers of their work and the difference you and they are out to make.
  • Be the supervisor you want to be. Not the one you feel stuck being.

Additional information

Dates

Series Beginning November 21 (12pm EST), Series Beginning October 12 (8pm EST)